Link availability
Some of these videos are embedded within tutorials in InfoLit - Core and don't have their own links. Please contact hthornton@infobase.com if you are going to use this LibGuide and we will set up the extra links for you.
Getting Started with Research
-
Life in the Information Age Technology is changing the way we locate, analyze, and share information. Use this video to introduce students to the evolving information landscape and their roles as responsible information consumers and creators.
-
Research Process Part 1: Pre-Research Describes the value of pre-research. Students will learn how to align their initial exploration to their assignment requirements.
-
Research Process Part 2: In-depth Reserach, Outlining, and Writing Walks students through the process of in-depth research, outlining, and writing. This video will also help students to understand the cyclical nature of research.
-
How to Narrow Your Topic Do your students have trouble selecting a topic for a research assignment? This video will outline the process to help students hone in on a compelling research topic with appropriate scope using strategies like strategic searching. Students will also understand the importance of open mindedness and flexibility in the research process.
-
Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google Part 1: Getting Started with Wikipedia/Google This video will help students to understand the process of background research by introducing techniques for gathering background information using Google and Wikipedia.
-
Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google Part 2: Transitioning from Wikipedia/Google to Databases Discusses how to using Google Scholar to find keywords and then use those in library databases to find full-text scholarly articles on your topic.
-
Thesis Statements Use this video to help students identify the purpose of their research efforts and construct evidence-based statements. Students will learn how to narrow in on a topic, conduct background research, and synthesize the existing body of evidence in order to craft a compelling argument.
-
Creating a Research Plan Information overload can be a major roadblock in the research process. This video will help students conceptualize a research pathway and consider solutions to common research challenges.
-
Framing a Problem If your students are having trouble formulating a research question for assignments, start with this video to help students begin framing a problem. Students will learn the importance of asking open-ended questions and how to approach research as a process.
Sources of Information
-
Data, Information, and Knowledge This video defines and explains the differences and relationships between data, information, and knowledge, and how each might be used or encountered in research.
-
Primary and Secondary Research This video illustrates the differences between primary (original) research (with a focus on methods used in sciences and social sciences) and secondary research, and the ethical considerations associated with each.
-
Identifying Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources What primary, secondary, and tertiary sources are and how their use might vary over time.
-
Using Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources Presenting the scenario that the viewer is a journalist, the video discusses how to use primary, secondary, and tertiary sources in research.
-
Peer Review This video will provide students with an understanding of what peer review means, how the process works, why it is an indicator of quality, and how to locate peer-reviewed sources during their research process.
-
Types of Sources This video provides students with a helpful overview of the wide variety of source types they may encounter during research. In addition to defining and describing different source types, it also addresses how to select the appropriate source for their information need, analyzing the capabilities and constraints of different source types, and how to determine source quality.
-
How to Read Scholarly Materials Do your students feel intimidated by scholarly materials? Use this video to help students get familiar with these valuable resources and learn tips for approaching, analyzing, and integrating scholarly materials into their projects.
Searching for Information
-
Searching as Exploration Part 1: The Searching Mindset This video discusses how to approach an open-ended resesarch question, explaining that students shouldn't expect a quick answer and instead encouraging them to adopt the mindset that exploring will be necessary.
-
Searching as Exploration Part 2: Exploration Strategies This video covers how the materials you find will guide your search, for example by suggesting new keywords and sources to try.
-
Refining Search Results Use this video to help students navigate the search process. Students will learn techniques to conduct effective background research using multiple keywords in order to narrow in on a research focus.
Evaluating Information
-
What is Authority? Use this video to introduce students to the concept of authority, how it relates to research, source selection, evaluation, and attribution.
-
Introduction to Bias This video introduces the idea of bias and prejudice and the importance of awareness of one’s own bias and the bias of others when evaluating sources and situations, and responding to arguments.
-
Types of Bias This video builds on the introduction to bias video by discussing specific types of bias such as social bias, confirmation bias, and communal reinforcement.
-
Evaluating Sources Use this video to encourage students to think critically about the information they encounter in print and online. Students will become familiar with strategies for evaluating sources based on these criteria: authority, accuracy, currency, relevance, and objectivity.
-
Understanding Misinformation Part 1: Identifying Misinformation The difference between misinformation and disinformtion, why the term "fake news" is problematic, and why some people aim to deceive others.
-
Understanding Misinformation Part 2: News Evaluation Strategies Questions students should ask themselves and other steps they can take when evalauating a source to see if it contains misinformation or not.
-
Introduction to Fact-Checking The different kinds of fact checking and their purpose.
Presenting and Organizing Information
-
Synthesis This video focuses on strategies for writing a strong paper that brings together ideas from multiple sources, including identifying main ideas, and paraphrasing and summarizing techniques.
-
Anatomy of a Research Paper This video provides students with an overview of the basic structure of a research paper.
-
Writing Help Use this video to help students craft clear and effective written assignments. Students will review the value of sentence variety and the importance of proofreading their work.
-
Academic Writing This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering multiple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
-
Presentation Skills: Scenario Part 1 An example of a student presenting poorly.
-
Presentation Skills: Scenario Part 2 An example of a well-prepared student who does a confident, engaging presentation.
-
Study Tips A student who has a job and outside interests as well as plenty of school work describes how she organizes herself and how she makes the most of her study time.
-
Understanding the Communication Need Use this video to help students analyze the purpose of communication methods. Students will be introduced to the advantages and disadvantages of each in order to choose the best type for a given situation
-
Using Your Voice How pitch, pacing, and other voice attributes combine to get your message across.
Citations
-
APA Citation Style Students will be able to identify the required elements of APA 7th edition citation style in order to properly format in-text and reference list citations in their assignments. The tutorial includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where students can format citations of different source types properly.
-
MLA 9th Edition Citation Style Use this video to provide students with an overview of the MLA 9th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
-
Turabian Citation Style 9th Ed. In this updated video, students will get an overview of Turabian Citation Style, including guidance on citing common source types such as books, journals, and websites.
-
Harvard Citation Style This video provides an overview of the Harvard referencing style, which is common at universities in the UK. It includes an introduction about the importance of citations and describes conventions for popular sources such as books, websites, and journals.
-
Chicago Style 17th ed. Journals This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations (17th edition), focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
-
Chicago Style, 17th ed. Books and eBooks This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations (17th edition), focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
-
Chicago Style, 17th ed. Websites and Social Media This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations (17th edition), focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
-
Chicago Style 18th ed. Journals This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations (18th edition), focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
-
Chicago Style, 18th ed. Books and eBooks This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations (18th edition), focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
-
Chicago Style, 18th ed. Websites and Social Media This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations (18th edition), focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Information Ethics
-
Using a Range of Sources This video covers approaching research as an encounter with ideas and information from a range of sources, and looking at issues from a range of perspectives in order to achieve a full understanding.
-
Acknowledging Information's Value This video examines ways in which students can acknowledge that information has value: by accessing it legally and by crediting creators of information.
-
Intellectual Property This video outlines the purpose of copyright protections and the definition of public domain, and provides an introdution to the concept of fair use.
-
Plagiarism This video provides examples and explanations of specific types of plagiarism, such as cloning, aggregation, and self-plagiarism, as well as strategies to prevent plagiarizing and a reminder of the possible consequences of academic dishonesty.
-
Digital Privacy The interconnectivity of the web may lead to your information being taken out of context, sold, or otherwise compromised. Using this video, students can learn how their privacy may be eroded in the digital environment.
-
Introduction to Digital Citizenship This video demonstrates the value and characteristics of digital citizenship.
-
Accessing Information - Examining Habits How students can proactively adjust the way they acquire information to support their ability to make informed decisions.
Visual and Quantitative Literacy
-
Searching for Images To be an effective communicator using visual information, students first need to develop the skills necessary for locating images. Use this video to introduce students to strategies for locating images and get familiar with image databases or subject-specific collections accessible through the library.
-
Interpreting Images Interpreting visual information is a critical skill students will use beyond their academic careers. Use this video to encourage students to ask questions and consider context when interpreting visuals.
-
Why Visual Literacy Matters To go beyond a surface level understanding of a visual, you need to use critical thinking skills and ask smart questions to fully appreciate an image’s meaning. This video provides a look at why visual literacy matters and how to practice it.
-
Geographic Literacy This video discusses how it is important understanding how both the physical environment and features around you as well as the way human needs and actions affect and are affected by this environment.
-
Using Quantitative Data Use this video to help students incorporate quantitative data in their research and evaluate available sources for currency, accuracy, authority, relevance, and objectivity
-
Evaluating Statistics Use this video to help students incorporate quantitative data in their research and evaluate available sources for currency, accuracy, authority, relevance, and objectivity
Using Critical Thinking and Logic
-
Why Thinking Matters To think critically is to expand your awareness of how and why people interpret events, issues, and information in a certain way. This video discusses critical thinking and its role in daily life.
-
Inquiry Use this video to introduce students to the value of using an inquiry-based mindset. Students will learn how to use inquiry to ask questions and solve problems thoughtfully and effectively.
-
Inductive and Deductive Reasoning Two of the most common methods of logical reasoning are inductive and deductive reasoning. Students and researchers use these different approaches to understand situations in the classroom and the workplace. Watch this video to learn more.
-
Evidence-Based Reasoning Use this video to introduce students to the importance of supporting research conclusions with evidence. Students will also learn how to assess their research question in order to locate the appropriate supporting evidence.
-
Being an Analytical Reader Successful analysis is all about going beyond the surface of an issue or a source to achieve a deeper understanding. The first step in this process is to be a careful reader. This video reviews strategies for achieving success in your analytical reading.
Culture and Citizenship
-
Introduction to Cultural Issues Understanding their own cultural identity is the first step for students to develop empathy for others from different backgrounds. Use this video to encourage students to consider how their identity is affected by culture and world events.
-
Global Citizenship This video will introduce students to their roles as global citizens by encouraging them to think critically about their daily actions in a global context.
-
Introduction to Civic Engagement Part of being a responsible, informed citizen is engaging with the goals and challenges of the community. Use this video to help students begin reflecting on ways they have been (or could be) involved with civic issues in their community
-
Introduction to Civic Action Effective communication is a key part of successful civic action. Use this video to introduce students to the fundamental role communication plays in the stages of planning, implementing, and discussing civic action.