Psychology in Credo: Overview

CBT is an extremely successful and popular method of psychotherapy, loosely based on cognitive principles.

From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
The view that mental states are defined by their causes and effects. As a metaphysical thesis about the nature of mental states, functionalism holds that what makes an inner state mental is not an intrinsic property of the state, but rather its relations to sensory stimulation (input), to other inner states, and to behavior (output).

School of psychology that interprets phenomena as organized wholes rather than as aggregates of distinct parts, maintaining that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
The subfield of psychology that traces the development over time of moral reasoning and opinions in the lives of individuals.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
A branch of applied psychology covering organizational, military, economic and personnel psychology and including such areas as tests and measurements, the study of organizations and organizational behaviour, personnel practices, human engineering, human factors, the effects of work, fatigue, pay, consumer surveys and market research.

Positive psychology’s first focal area, positive subjective experience, is characterized by the study of such topics as well-being, personal happiness, life satisfaction, optimal human experience, exceptional performance, states of flow (total involvement), the importance of meaningful activity, and the good life. The second focus concerns the study of positive individual traits, and the field has already identified 24 “character strengths and virtues.”

Name given by Sigmund Freud to a system of interpretation and therapeutic treatment of psychological disorders.

From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
As a school or system of psychology, structuralism had its antecedents in British philosophy of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education
The American Psychological Association (APA) is the nation’s major psychology organization. The APA works to advance psychology as a science and a profession, and to promote human welfare.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education
The history of psychiatric care at Bellevue Hospital Center and the history of psychiatric care in the United States are closely interwoven.

From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Halfway houses are locales where all activities and interactions may be viewed as having potentially healing, rehabilitative, and supportive properties and where all members may consciously or unconsciously contribute to therapy.

Mainly at Cambridge, Mass., including Harvard College, the oldest American college.

An institution in which certain kinds of illness are investigated and treated. The first documented hospital was Chinese, in 491. In the European Middle Ages the well-to-do were all treated at home, while the sick poor were cared for in a hospital attached to the local poor house. Hospitals are the centerpiece of U.S. healthcare and are multipurpose healthcare institutions. They provide a place for physicians and other clinicians to treat patients, for special diagnostic and treatment services, and for emergency care services.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
At Oxford, England, one of the oldest English-language universities in the world.

Institution of higher learning for those who have completed primary and secondary education.