Tutorial; APA Citations 7th Edition
Students will be able to identify the required elements of APA 7th edition citation style in order to properly format in-text and reference list citations in their assignments. The tutorial includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where students can format citations of different source types properly.
Tutorial: MLA 9th Edition
Use this tutorial to provide students with an overview of the MLA 9th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
Tutorial: Why Citations Matter
This tutorial provides an overview of why it is important to cite sources, and an explanation for why different citation formats and citation styles exist.
Video: Academic Integrity
Use this video to provide students with an introduction to the concept that information has value, and that acting with academic integrity and ethical behavior is essential to success as a student and as a participant in the scholarly conversation.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Books and Ebooks
This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Journals
This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Websites and Social Media
This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Tutorial: Copyright
Use this tutorial to introduce students to the purpose of copyright protections, the definition of public domain, and the concept of fair use.
Video: Harvard Citation Style
This video provides an overview of the Harvard referencing style, which is common at universities in the UK. It includes an introduction about the importance of citations and describes conventions for popular sources such as books, websites, and journals.
Video: Plagiarism
This video provides examples and explanations of specific types of plagiarism, such as cloning, aggregation, and self-plagiarism, as well as strategies to prevent plagiarizing and a reminder of the possible consequences of academic dishonesty.
Video: Turabian Citation Style 9th Edition
Use this video to provide students with an overview of Turabian citation style, including common source types such as books, journals, and websites.
Tutorial: News Reporting vs. Opinion Pieces in Journalism
This tutorial will help students differentiate between news journalism and opinion journalism in order to analyze the purpose, standards, and expectations related to reporting and editorializing.
Tutorial: Evaluating Digital Sources using Lateral Reading
This tutorial will introduce students to the practice of lateral reading. Students will learn how to evaluate online materials by digging deeper into the origins and motives behind sites. Students will also have the opportunity to practice lateral reading on their own through a guided activity.
Tutorial: Background Research Tips
Determining a manageable research question can be challenging for students. Use this tutorial to introduce strategies for aligning a research focus with assignment guidelines and research tools such as concept maps.
Tutorial: Developing a Research Focus
In this tutorial, students will be introduced to pre-research techniques to determine the scope and depth of their research focus.
Tutorial: Research for Persuasive Writing
This tutorial will introduce students to the purpose and characteristics of persuasive writing in order to locate and select the most appropriate types of evidence to support their assignments. Students will also be able to evaluate both supporting and conflicting evidence in order to incorporate the appropriate types of evidence that will strengthen their position and present a nuanced view of their selected topic.
Tutorial: Scholarship as Conversation
Use this tutorial to encourage students to develop a scholarly mindset. In this tutorial, students will learn how their projects help build the body of work in a given field. Additionally, students will become familiar with the process of attribution and critical evaluation.
Tutorial: Why Information Literacy Matters
Use this tutorial to show students how information literacy is relevant to their day-to-day lives. Students will become familiar with their own information seeking habits, privilege, and skills used in their personal, academic, and professional lives.
Video: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google Part 1 (Getting Started with Wikipedia/Google)
This video will help students understand the process of background research by introducing techniques for gathering background information using Google and Wikipedia.
Video: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google Part 2 (Transitioning from Google/Wikipedia to Databases)
In this video, students will learn how to use their search results from Google and Wikipedia to gather additional information using Google Scholar and library databases.
Video: Creating a Research Plan
Information overload can be a major roadblock in the research process. This video will help students conceptualize a research pathway and consider solutions to common research challenges.
Video: Framing a Problem
If your students are having trouble formulating a research question for assignments, start with this video to help students begin the framing a problem. Students will learn the importance of asking open-ended questions and how to approach research as a process.
Video: How to Narrow Your Topic
Do your students have trouble selecting a topic for a research assignment? This video will outline the process to help students hone in on a compelling research topic with appropriate scope using strategies like strategic searching. Students will also understand the importance of open mindedness and flexibility in the research process.
Video: The Research Process
This video will introduce students to the research process and provide them with tips to navigate its steps including understanding their project requirements, choosing a topic, conducting background research, developing a research question, searching for information, and evaluating sources. Students will also become familiar with the iterative nature of research and exploration.
Video: The Research Process Part 1 (Pre-Search)
Use this video to demonstrate the value of pre-research. Students will learn how to align their initial exploration to their assignment requirements.
Video: The Research Process Part 2 (In-Depth Research, Outlining, and Writing)
This video will walk students through the process of in-depth research, outlining, and writing. This video will also help students understand the cyclical nature of research.
Video: Thesis Statements
Use this video to help students identify the purpose of their research efforts and construct evidence-based statements. Students will learn how to narrow in on a topic, conduct background research, and synthesize the existing body of evidence in order to craft a compelling argument.
Tutorial: Annotated Bibliography
Students will become familiar with annotated bibliographies and the role annotations play in research and scholarship. Use this tutorial to help students identify the purpose, structure, and content of annotated bibliographies and create their own annotations.
Tutorial: Synthesizing Information
In this tutorial, students will be introduced to the process of synthesis in order to select reliable evidence and engage with conflicting information as they develop their own evidence-based conclusions.
Video: Academic Writing
This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering mutliple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper
This vdeo provides students with an overview of the basic structure of a research paper.
Video: Synthesizing Information
This video focuses on strategies for writing a strong paper that brings together ideas from multiple sources, including identifying main ideas, and paraphrasing and summarizing techniques.
Video: Writing Help
Use this video to help students craft clear and effective written assignments. Students will review the value of sentence variety and the importance of proofreading their work.
Video: Searching as Exploration Part 1 (Exploration Strategies)
This video digs deeper into exploratory search strategies. Students will learn how to craft a search statement and the importance of neutral language.
Video: Searching as Exploration Part 2 (The Searching Mindset)
Use this video to introduce students to the mindset of searching as exploration. Students will be able to distinguish between targeted and exploratory search, plus the most effective approaches to each.
Tutorial: Selecting Appropriate Digital Sources
This tutorial will help students identify their information need in order to locate and assess relevant resources. Using the techniques in this tutorial, students will also be able to distinguish between types of online sources in order to select those most appropriate for their information need.
Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge
This video defines and explains the differences and relationships between data, information, and knowledge, and how each might be used or encountered in research.
Video: Primary and Secondary Research
This video illustrates the differences between primary (original) research (with a focus on methods used in sciences and social sciences) and secondary research, and the ethical considerations associated with each.
Tutorial: Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources
In this tutorial, students will be introduced to the characteristics and purposes of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources. Students will come away with a deeper understanding of the applications of each source type so that they can locate, evaluate, and analyze a range of sources for their academic assignments.
Video: Types of Sources
This video provides students with a helpful overview of the wide variety of source types they may encounter during research. In addition to defining and describing different source types, it also addresses how to select the appropriate source for their information need, analyzing the capabilities and constraints of different source types, and how to determine source quality.
Video: Evidence Based Reasoning
Use this video to introduce students to the importance of supporting research conclusions with evidence. Students will also learn how to assess their research question in order to locate the approptiate supporting evidence.
Video: Inquiry
Use this video to introduce students to the value of using an inquiry-based mindset. Students will learn how to use inquiry to ask questions and solve problems thoughtfully and effectively.
Video: Searching for Images
To be an effective communicator using visual information, students first need to develop the skills necessary for locating images. Use this video to introduce students to strategies for locating images and get familiar with image databases or subject-specific collections accessible through the library.
Video: Using Quantitative Data
Use this video to help students incorporate quantitative data in their research and evaluate available sources for currency, accuracy, authority, relevance, and objectivity
Tutorial: Synthesizing Information
In this tutorial, students will be introduced to the process of synthesis in order to select reliable evidence and engage with conflicting information as they develop their own evidence-based conclusions.
Tutorial: Analyzing Information
This tutorial will introduce students the analysis process by encouraging open-mindedness, critical thinking, and curiosity.
Tutorial: Intro to Logical Reasoning
Using this tutorial, students will learn how to draw connections between logical reasoning and critical thinking in order to evaluate the objectivity of an argument and its supporting evidence.
Tutorial: Why Thinking Matters
This tutorial includes an updated video and checkpoints to test students' understanding of how critical thinking can be applied to solving problems in their daily lives.
Video Tutorial: Fact-Checking
In this tutorial, students will get an overview of the purpose of fact-checking as well as professional strategies to apply to their own interactions with scholarly and everyday sources of information. Included video introduces students to the practice of fact-checking and the related concept of accuracy in reporting.
Tutorial: Evaluating Sources for Diverse Points of View
Use this tutorial to introduce students to the practice of differentiating between dominant theories and perspectives that are underrepresented in scholarly and everyday sources. The goal of the lesson is to encourage students to seek out multiple relevant and credible perspectives in order to develop a nuanced understanding of the issues that are important to them.