Fashion in Credo: Books

Chronicles the most influential fashion ideas through which womenswear has evolved, offering a unique and engaging perspective on the subject.

A look-by-look dissection of the key ideas that changed the way we dress -- from the middle of the 20th century to the present day -- explaining the most iconic items of clothing and how they were worn, what the look was born of, its cultural background, how it was received, and how it still resonates in fashion today.

Covers the origins of the imagery and designs on common jewelry and portable artwork between late antiquity and the Middle Ages.

Provides intelligence and information unavailable anywhere else about a wealth of subjects and individuals. Focused upon what is truly innovative and excellent, Kostelanetz ranges widely with insight and surprise, including appreciations of artistic athletes such as Muhammad Ali, Johan Cruyff, and the Harlem Globetrotters and such collective creations as Las Vegas and his native New York City.

Offers a thorough grounding in the principles of fashion design, describing the qualities and skills needed to become a fashion designer, examining the varied career opportunities available and giving a balanced inside view of the fashion business today.

Aki Choklat explores the footwear design process, explaining the differences between the anatomy of the foot and the anatomy of a shoe, showing how one constrains the other, before moving onto the research and design development processes and the art of creating a complete collection.

Focusing on fashion from 1850, noted fashion historians Daniel James Cole and Nancy Deihl consider the evolution of womenswear, menswear, and childrenswear, decade by decade.

Offers students and those wishing to enter a career in textile design a basic grounding in its three main disciplines - printed, woven and mixed media.

All environmental aspects relating to the textile and clothing industry are discussed in this book.

Documents the universe of fashion from the mid-18th century through the late 1990s in short entries with many illustrations.

Demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).

Packed with information on materials and techniques, feature boxes containing information and marks, practical advice on how to identify a fake, and tips on caring for and displaying your collection.

A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.

Comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design. From pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic advances, a wealth of entries elucidate technical terms and detail movements, media, advertising, corporate identity, posters, packaging, and magazine and book design, placing graphic design in the wider context of the history of fine art and illustration.

A great introduction for retail students, this book offers a user-friendly reference guide to all aspects of visual merchandising and covers both window dressing and in-store areas. Using examples from a range of shops, from fashion emporia to small outlets, the book offers practical advice on the subject, supported by hints and tips from established visual merchandisers.

A collection of auction house, fine art, furniture, antiques, and decorative arts images.

A diverse image collection of auction house-antiques, fine art, and decorative arts.

A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.

A collection of images of William Morris Designs.

High definition images with metadata from the National Gallery, London

Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world

Founded in 1856, the aim of the National Portrait Gallery, London is "to promote through the medium of portraits the appreciation and understanding of the men and women who have made and are making British history and culture, and ... to promote the appreciation and understanding of portraiture in all media". The Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.

Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

Offers a spirited reassessment of art history's methods and terminology.

Substantial and ambitious dictionary exploring the languages and cultures of visual studies. Provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.

An essential reference work embracing the vast vocabulary of art in all its forms. Contains over 2000 authoritative entries. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day: there is even a table of the dynasties of Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt, China, India and Japan.