Culinary Arts in Credo: Books

By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, this text maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

In this delightful, surprising and occasionally juicy exploration, Victoria Dickenson traces the humble berry's journey across cultures and through centuries with humour and passion.

In this intriguing natural and cultural history, Constance L. Kirker and Mary Newman recount the origins, legends, celebrations, production and health benefits of this beloved tree.

This enlarged and enhanced reference volume was written for both the discerning home chef and those who want to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. This 2nd edition is updated with new information to reflect the way we eat in today's world. The authors have taken into account our healthier lifestyles and more diverse palates.

Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.

An informed and entertaining history that takes readers from the world's first restaurants in Kaifeng to the latest high-end dining experiences.

Jeff Miller explores the meteoric rise of the avocado, from its co-evolution with the megaherbivores of the Pleistocene to its acceptance by the Spanish conquistadores in Mexico and its current dominance of food consumers' imagination.

A vivid journey through the gastronomical, botanical, cultural and political history of beans.

Anastasia Edwards explores the abundant history of this versatile snack, from earliest beginnings through Middle Eastern baking to Northern Europe in the Middle Ages, and on into the New World.

In this lively book, Meg Muckenhoupt traces cabbage's culinary paradox, exploring the cultural and chemical basis for its smelly reputation and enduring popularity.

Explores the global history of coconut from its origin to its recent elevation to superfood status.

Michael Owen Jones traces the transportation of corn to the Old World by Christopher Columbus, and its rapid distribution throughout Europe, Africa, and Asia that followed.

A global history of hummus bi-tahina, the delicious combination of chickpeas, tahini, lemon and garlic that we know and love as hummus.

Award-winning jam-maker Sarah B. Hood looks at the history of these sweet treats from simple fruit preserves to staple commodities, gifts for royalty, global brands, wartime comforts and valued delicacies.

Packed with entertaining mustard facts, anecdotes and images, as well as a selection of historic and modern recipes, this surprising history of one of the world's most loved condiments will appeal to food history aficionados.

Follow the story from the prehistoric up to the present day, discovering how the oyster became the food of both paupers and kings, contributed to the building of empires and the demise of ecosystems, and why it may be the creature to help save the world's dying coastal shorelines and reefs.

In this globe-trotting book, Davison discovers how pickles have been omnipresent in our common quest, not only to conserve, but to create foods with relish.

Explores how people throughout history interacted with pomegranates, featuring a cast of historical heads from the Ashurnasirpal to Anne Boleyn, and from Sandro Botticelli to Salvador Dali.

Explore the dramatic history of the world's most expensive spice.

Looks at how something made from water, sugar and soda became big business but also became deeply important to people; fizzy drinks' symbolic meanings are far more complex than the water, gas and sugar from which they are made.

From marzipan pigs and nutty nougat to bubblegum and bonbons, Sweets and Candy looks behind the glamour and sparkle to explore the sticky history of confectionery.

Tomato charts the eventful history of this seemingly humble food, from its obscure origins in South America to a fundamental ingredient in the cuisines of nations around the world today.

Featuring recipes, facts and fables, Vanilla unravels the delightfully rich history, mystery and essence of a flavour that reconnects us to our own heritage.

First published in 1983, this work by John Mariani has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, now includes biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices. These herbs and spices constitute an important agricultural commodity; many are traded globally and are indispensable for pharmaceuticals, flavouring foods and beverages, and in the perfumery and cosmetic industries.

Fungipedia presents a delightful A--Z treasury of mushroom lore.

The first history of sushi in English; traces sushi's development from China to Japan and then internationally, and its evolution from street food to high-class cuisine.

Most comprehensive reference work on the idea of the sweet ever published, with entries on all aspects of sweetness, including chemical, technical, social, cultural, and linguistic.

Sarah Worth asserts that taste is a sense that needs educating, for the real pleasures of eating only come with an understanding of what one really likes.

Terms related to leisure, travel and tourism, ranging from hotels, catering, restaurants and customer service to general business, accounting and personnel concepts.

This is the first full length dictionary of Leisure Studies. It examines the key concepts, assesses the work of central figures, and helps students zero-in on essential issues and conceptual distinctions.

Covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level (including: Lodging, Restaurants, Clubs, Time-shares, and Conventions), as well as a functional one (covering Accounting & finance, Marketing, Human resources, Information technology and Facilities management).

This QA International series provides a valuable overview through videos and animations of modern nutrition, with contributions from experts in the field.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on plants through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

Reviews the latest findings, results from on-the-ground programs and interventions, and recent policy experiences from countries around the world that are bringing the agriculture and nutrition sectors closer together.

Provides a broad introduction to the role of insects as human food, from our prehistoric past to current food trends.

Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet.

Explains the often confusing (and sometimes contradictory) language and measurements on food labels and in food marketing, and provides information in a more reader-friendly way than an FDA report can.

Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, this text covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home.

From herbs, oils and vitamins to yoga, healing remedies, and belly laughs, this book explores hundreds of ancient remedies, natural therapies, and nature's medicine cabinet. This comprehensive guide to nature-based health and well-being includes the most current knowledge, information, and science behind a natural diet and lifestyle to promote wellness.

Thousands of entries provide coverage on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.

This extensive work is the definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important area of food and agricultural ethics.

Investigates the history of food in America, where it comes from and how it has changed over time.

Christine M. Du Bois reveals its hugely significant role in human history, as she traces the story of soy from its domestication in ancient Asia to the promise and perils it offers in the twenty-first century.

Spanning 65,000 years, this book provides a history of food in Australia from its beginnings, with the arrival of the first peoples and their stewardship of the land, to a present where the production and consumption of food is fraught with anxieties and competing priorities.