Australian History in Credo: 19th Century

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide English sailor. He accompanied Captain James Cook on his second voyage around the world (1772-74), and in 1787 commanded HMS Bounty on an expedition to the Pacific.

From Historical Dictionary of Australia
Ned Kelly was Australia's most famous bushranger. He was born at Beveridge, Victoria, of Irish parents. Growing up in a criminal environment, Ned Kelly's life of crime began at the age of 14. Even in his lifetime, Ned Kelly became a legend and, after his death, a folk hero. As a symbol of defiance against brutal injustice, he has been of continual interest to artists.

From The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
Australian feminist. Becoming involved in radical and feminist politics, she founded a discussion group, the Dawn Club, in 1888, and edited the newspaper The Dawn from 1889, insisting that it would be produced entirely by women, despite opposition from the typographical unions.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary: Australian politician, known as "the Father of Australian Federation"

From The Columbia Encyclopedia: Scottish explorer in Australia. He emigrated (1838) to S Australia; there, as a draftsman, he joined Charles Sturt's expedition (1844–45) to central Australia.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia: English explorer and administrator in Australia, b. India. In 1827 he arrived in Sydney with a detachment of the British army.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History: Traces of gold were first found in Australia in 1823, but the first significant find was in 1851, when Edward Hargraves publicized his find and attracted 2,000 to the site at Ophir, New South Wales.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History: In Australian history, a series of anti-Chinese riots on the Burrangong goldfields (Young, New South Wales) which expelled the Chinese and destroyed their camps.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History: In Australian history, an armed clash between goldminers and a combined police and military force at the Eureka Stockade, Ballarat, Victoria (1854), which cost the lives of 30 miners and five soldiers, with many others wounded.

From Historical Dictionary of Australia
The first government-owned railroad in Australia was opened in 1854 in Melbourne, Victoria. In New South Wales the failure of a private company to build a railroad from Sydney to Goulburn caused it to be taken over by the government in 1855.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History: An uprising in Sydney which deposed the Governor of New South Wales, Captain William Bligh.

From Historical Dictionary of Australia: A social movement that aimed to curb the drinking of alcohol, temperance groups had some notable successes early in the 20th century, such as the early closing of hotel bars in some states during World War I, but their influence declined by midcentury.