Australian History in Credo: Books

International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.

Australian content in this title
Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

Australian content in this title
The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

Australian content in this title
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

Australian content in this title
The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

A chronology of world history through March 2018.

Australian content in this title
From the first civilizations to the 21st century this wide-ranging, compulsively readable book encompasses all of world history: great ages and monumental events; the rise and fall of cultures; names, dates, and statistics, and stories galore.

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

2nd Edition: provides a clear, lively, and comprehensive account of the history of Great Britain from ancient times to the present day. Narrates the history of Great Britain from the earliest times to the 21st century, covering the entire island -- England, Wales, and Scotland -- as well as associated archipelagos such as the Channel Islands, the Orkneys, and Ireland as they have influenced British history. The central story of this volume is the development of the British kingdom, including its rise and decline on the world stage.

Tells the story of the architects and buildings that have defined Australia's architectural culture since the founding of the modern nation.

A valuable resource for both undergraduate and graduate students of the history of Australian artforms from colonization to postmodernism, and for general readers with an interest in the nation's colonial art history.

2nd Edition: provides a clear, lively, and comprehensive account of the history of Australia from ancient times to the present day.

4th edition, covers Australia's history through entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

This record of Australian English features headwords with subsidiary headwords, definitions, and encyclopedic entries for people and places.

Poses sociological questions about the formation of intellectual fields and their social relations, and offers an in-depth, historical study of one of the largest specialities of the discipline of sociology - the sociology of health and medicine - across three countries: the United States of America, Britain and Australia.

Australian content in this title
A unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present. Covers myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years: from the Assyrians of the ancient Middle East to the modern-day Armenians, from the Belgae of ancient Europe to the modern-day Basques.

Includes short definitional entries (see, for example, the entries for plantation and dry farming) and longer, interpretative essays on human geography and its major sub-fields (such as geopolitics, development, and spatiality), thereby providing readers with a contextual background to the terms. By directing readers to the major sources for further information, the Dictionary also serves as an unparalleled companion to geographical literature.

4th edition, covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography.

Global diversity comes alive in DK's essential guide to our ever-changing world, full of fact-packed spreads and full-color photographs.

A new kind of textbook that forms part of an innovative set of companion texts for the human geography sub-disciplines.

A comprehensive guide to the key political and physical features of today's world.