Communication in Credo: Books

Explores the meanings of idioms, including phrasal verbs such as "kick back", proverbs such as "too many cooks spoil the broth", interjections such as "tough beans", and figures of speech such as "elephant in the room".

This 6th edition offers newly updated terms, and provides the latest research on word origins and meanings, with guidelines on accurate usage.

This authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style offers guidance on almost any writing problem imaginable. Arranged in a single, easy-to-use A-Z list, the guide's entries include examples and quotations that show not only correct and incorrect usage but also the relative effectiveness of different expressions in context.

Provides a wide range of synonyms organized in alphabetical order. Clear definitions that orient the user to the relevant meaning of related words set this thesaurus apart from the competition.

With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today. It deals with drugs, sport and contemporary society, as well as favourite slang topics such as sex and bodily functions.

Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.

Raises the consciousness of journalists who strive to be accurate. Based on studies, news reports and style guides, as well as interviews with more than 50 journalists and experts, it offers the best, most up-to-date advice on writing about underrepresented and often misrepresented groups.

7th edition, updates the bestselling guide and offers information and advice on spelling, grammar, punctuation, pronunciation, confusables and the latest buzzwords, and provides clear, straightforward answers to everyday language problems.

Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, such as print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics.

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.

Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception. The ideas include innovative concepts, technologies, techniques and movements, from the silent era's masterpieces to today's blockbusters and art house movies, these highly illustrated pages are a chance to rediscover films from five continents.

From scriptwriting through to production, this introduction to animation for students surveys key technical processes and examines a variety of stylistic approaches.

This text problematizes the exaltation of fans and offers a comprehensive examination of the current state of the field. Bringing together the latest international research, it explores the conceptualization of the fan and the significance of relationships between fans and producers, with particular attention to the intersection between online spaces and offline places.

Provides students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.

Substantial and ambitious dictionary exploring the languages and cultures of visual studies. Provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.

Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.

From the classics to the B slasher movies, over 11,000 quotes are arranged in this unique reference.

The first comprehensive reference work to which teachers, students, and the curious can quickly turn for reliable information on the key terms and concepts of the field.

Covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.

Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use introduction to the field of radio studies.

Introduces and aims to advance the field of critical media studies by tracing, defining, and problematizing its established and emergent terminology. The book historicizes thinking about media and society, whether that means noting a long history of "new media," or tracing how understandings of media "power" vary across time periods and knowledge formations.

Includes over tens of thousands of quotations for all occasions, from Ancient Egypt to the 21st century.

Critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence.

The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.

Authoritative survey of second language acquisition (SLA). Its multi-perspective synopsis on recent developments in SLA research provides significant contributions by established experts and widely recognized younger talent.

Definitions of terms in the field of linguistics and phonetics.

The first comprehensive dictionary of the field of sociolinguistics, this is a valuable reference book for students and teachers of sociolinguistics, others concerned with the socially-oriented study of language and those with a professional interest in language.

Explains what voice, speech, and language are, and how communication problems may develop in a person. Various types of communication disabilities and their impact on the personal, social, and economic well-being of a person are discussed. It offers information about recovery models and rehabilitation techniques along with the rights and benefits of people with communication disabilities.

An invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholars that successfully brings into a single source, explication of Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects.

Offers introductory entries on ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day.

Covers writing principles that are relevant for a wide range of business documents, including email, letters, memos, reports, proposals, and more, while also offering editing tips to ensure you come across as professional and polished.

Through case studies, real-life examples, and multiple data visualization graphics, this text offers a unique how to guide on creating a survey.

2nd Edition; introduces fundamentals of good survey research to students and practitioners of the survey process as well as end users of survey information. It describes key survey components needed to design, understand, and use surveys effectively and avoid the pitfalls stemming from bad survey construction and inappropriate methods.

Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.

Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use overview to the field.

In this short, accessible book, Nick Smith shares a lifetime of hard-earned wisdom and practical advice, giving you, in straightforward language, all the mobile marketing expertise you need to run successful mobile campaigns.

From crafting the perfect CV and finding the job of your dreams, to writing a great cover letter and winning at interview, this is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately.

This book gives you everything you need to be a better marketer. It is a dynamic collection of essential skills covering the topics that will help you make a seismic impact upon your performance - faster than you ever thought possible.

A celebration of the most influential and thought-provoking speeches that have shaped the world we live in. With comprehensive, chronological coverage of speeches from the 20th and 21st centuries, taken from all corners of the globe.

Brings together a diverse selection of eloquent, powerful, witty and passionate speeches, given by politicians, monarchs, rebels and intellectuals from around the world.

Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

Inside 50 Success Classics, discover the all-time classic books that have helped millions of people achieve success in their work, their mission, and their personal lives.

Demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).

Presents some 20,000 terms that appear in text messages, chatrooms, websites, sports statistics, travel brochures, airports, personal ads, and countless other places in a world where shorthand is the true universal language.

Ingeniously organized and eminently browsable, this richly visual volume is divided into six big sections--medicine, transportation, communication, biology, chemistry, and the environment. This remarkable depiction of history tells the story of every Big Idea in our history, seen through the lens of where science is taking us today--and tomorrow.

Whether it’s for a professional presentation, a school paper, an Internet blog or video, or something more personal, this text explains the concepts, provides insights, shares advice, and examines the skills needed to master effective and efficient communication for every setting and occasion.

Offers critical assessments of theoretical and applied research on digitally-mediated communication, a central area of study in the 21st century.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of the press.

Throughout history, literary works of all kinds have been used to spread propaganda and influence public opinion for or against one cause or another. Examines these literary works and explores ways in which propaganda shapes public opinion, persuades its audience, and impacts society.

As a resource for exploring the influences on American values, this text provides an essential and an accessible commentary on the ways in which advances in communication technologies and practices have shaped American opinion and history.

Spanning continents and centuries, Protest! presents a major new chronological look at protest graphics.

Provides a comprehensive examination of family communication theory and research. Chapters by leading scholars in family communication expand the definition of family, address recent shifts in culture, and cover important new topics, including families in crisis, families and governmental policies, social media, and extended families.

Tells a radical new story about propaganda, fake news and information warfare and their toxic impact on the communications revolution of the past twenty years. It explains how propaganda invades the human psyche, in what ways it does so, and in what contexts.