Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Poetry & Literature
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, this title covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
A New Literary History of America
Contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoric--cultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape.
World Poetry & Literature
Literary Criticism & Theory
A History of Feminist Literary Criticism
Offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.
Key Terms in Literary Theory
Provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. Provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.
General Poetry & Literature
Brewer's Curious Titles
The fascinating story behind titles including quotations, allusions, and odd or bizarre or otherwise intriguing titles.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
Covers writers, illustrators, works, characters, countries, and related topics such as film, television, art, the oral tradition, advertising, feminism, and much more.
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
Drawn from the latest edition of the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, this provides an authoritative guide to the most important terms in the study of poetry and literature.
Books about Children's Literature
Keywords for Children's Literature
Presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
Thousands of authoritative and accessible entries on every aspect of children's literature, covering authors, illustrators, works, characters, genres, and much more. From Mark Haddon to Harry Potter, Raymond Briggs to Maurice Sendak, and Douglas Adams to The Gruffalo.