Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries, Thesaures, and More
American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
Presents some 20,000 terms that appear in text messages, chatrooms, websites, sports statistics, travel brochures, airports, personal ads, and countless other places in a world where shorthand is the true universal language.
The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms
Explores the meanings of idioms, including phrasal verbs such as "kick back", proverbs such as "too many cooks spoil the broth", interjections such as "tough beans", and figures of speech such as "elephant in the room".
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
This authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style offers guidance on almost any writing problem imaginable. Arranged in a single, easy-to-use A-Z list, the guide's entries include examples and quotations that show not only correct and incorrect usage but also the relative effectiveness of different expressions in context.
American Heritage Roget's Thesaurus
Provides a wide range of synonyms organized in alphabetical order. Clear definitions that orient the user to the relevant meaning of related words set this thesaurus apart from the competition.
Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable
From the publishers of the perennially best-selling Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable comes a phrase and fable dictionary for the 21st century. With its unique blend of word and phrase etymology, cultural allusion and general knowledge, and its predilection for the esoteric and the unexpected, this text offers a richly diverse and entertaining exploration of the linguistic and cultural landscape of the modern world.
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
20th edition; Much loved for its wit and wisdom since 1870, this text takes you on a captivating adventure through its trademark blend of language, culture, myth, and legend.
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today. It deals with drugs, sport and contemporary society, as well as favourite slang topics such as sex and bodily functions.
Dictionary of Eponyms
An eponym is the name of a person after whom something is named, for example Lord Sandwich gave his name to the sandwich. This book tells the stories of nearly one thousand men and women whose names have become part of the English language.
Encyclopedia of Mythological Objects
Containing detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over, this encyclopedia is the first of its kind. Each item is described in as much detail as the original source material provided, including information on its origin, who was its wielder, and the extent of its magical abilities.
Good Word Guide
7th edition, updates the bestselling guide and offers information and advice on spelling, grammar, punctuation, pronunciation, confusables and the latest buzzwords, and provides clear, straightforward answers to everyday language problems.
The Handy English Grammar Answer Book
Offers fundamental principles, grammar rules, punctuation advice, insights on writing, and writing examples for everyone and every occasion. From a brief history of the English language to the deconstruction and explanation of the different parts of a sentence, and from showing how to punctuate correctly to how to organize a well-argued essay, this easy-to-use reference answers nearly 500 questions and offers fun facts on the English language and its usage.
The Handy Literature Answer Book
Understand and Enjoy Meanings, Symbolism, and Signs in Great Works; an engaging, easy-to-read look at literature basics such as themes, symbols, context, and other literary devices.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary
Features a significant number of clear and precise definitions and more than 10,000 new words and meanings. Over 40,000 usage examples, more than any other desk dictionary, provide expert guidance to help solve problems of confused and disputed usage.
Useful Verbs and Tenses
Considers the basics of English verbs and tenses, including a summary of the different tenses; auxiliaries; questions and negatives; passive; conditionals; phrasal verbs; infinitive; participles; reported speech; subjunctive; common verbs and their phrasal verbs; irregular verbs.
The origins of thousands of words in the English language explored and explained.
Types of Writing
The Diversity Style Guide
Raises the consciousness of journalists who strive to be accurate. Based on studies, news reports and style guides, as well as interviews with more than 50 journalists and experts, it offers the best, most up-to-date advice on writing about underrepresented and often misrepresented groups.
Collins Dictionary of Business
Covers all the main areas of business theory and practice: marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business. Comprehensive coverage of everyday business terms such as cash flow and patent, and such increasingly quoted terms as hedge funds.
Collins Dictionary of Economics
Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.
The New Penguin Business Dictionary
Useful for those pursuing business courses and for those who need to get to grips with the jargon of the business and management world. It covers all aspects of business from accounting through marketing and organizational behaviour to human resource management.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics
3rd edition, providing the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. Perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields is essential.
Writing by Groups of People
A-to-Z of Women: American Women Writers
This engaging resource examines the stories of women from a wide array of cultures and generations who share a love of writing. These women are also united by the unique challenges facing women writers - some having to opt for masculine pen names in order to be published.
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature
Covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists.
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, this title covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature
Features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Offers a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500 CE. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world.
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature
Comprehensive A-to-Z encyclopedia to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania.