Social Work in Credo: Books

Provides brief accounts of the central ideas behind the key concepts of critical social theory from Alienation to the Unconscious. Essential reading for undergraduates in sociology and across the social sciences.

Vividly portraying the personal and professional lives of social work luminaries from the 19th to the present century, this text links their groundbreaking contributions in social work to current CSWE core competencies. The book focuses on leaders who shaped the field across modern American history - the Progressive Era, the Great Society, the New Deal, the Postwar period, and others - and examines their lives in the context of the social and historical environment, their contributions to social work, and lessons from their experiences that are still relevant to social work today.

Features more than 250 A-to-Z entries on important American activists and social leaders from colonial times to the present.

Provides a short, accessible overview of the transformational and ongoing struggles against America's prison system.

A state-of-the-art guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists around the world.

Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care.

Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on all aspects of senior health, for seniors and their caregivers.

Presents the latest research available on aging individuals, populations, and the dynamic culmination of the life course, providing a comprehensive synthesis and review of research findings in the social sciences of aging.

Most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.

Explains what voice, speech, and language are, and how communication problems may develop in a person. Various types of communication disabilities and their impact on the personal, social, and economic well-being of a person are discussed. It offers information about recovery models and rehabilitation techniques along with the rights and benefits of people with communication disabilities.

Provides an overview of rights and laws enacted to protect and accommodate people with disabilities. It includes information on federal laws that protect the right to vote, education programs and accommodations, Social Security benefits for individuals with a disability and the processes required to apply for these benefits, disability compensation benefits for veterans, information on how to find government and local disability programs and services, and other resources.

This updated and expanded major reference work advances the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society.

A comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes.

Addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. This completely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about 200 new entries, with increased attention given to technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. Discusses assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings.

2nd Edition. Authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.

Defines the current identity of community studies, providing a critical but reliable introduction to key concepts, and is an engaging guide to the key social research methods used by community researchers and practitioners.

Provides individual entries that introduce, explain and contextualize the key topics within the study of the family.

Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

An essential companion for students of urban studies, urban sociology, urban politics, urban planning and urban development.

This reference stands out as a natural companion for students on youth studies, sociology, criminology and social science programmes.

Aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond. The volume engages some of the most pressing debates of our time, such as prenatal testing, euthanasia, accessibility in public transportation and the workplace, post-traumatic stress, and questions about the beginning and end of life.

Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.

Provides a rich overview of the most important theoretical and empirical work in the field, organized by relationship type.

Examines policy and practice from around the world with respect to broadly conceived notions of inclusion and diversity within education.

A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Newly updated, this 3rd edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects - how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.