Islam in Credo: Terms & Concepts

From Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Allah is the Arabic equivalent of the English word God and is the term employed not only among Arabicspeaking Muslims but also by Christians and Jews and in Arabic translations of the Bible. A contraction of al-ilah, meaning “the god,” Allah is cognate with the generic pan-Semitic designation for “God” or “deity” (Israelite/Canaanite El, Akkadian ilu) and is particularly close to the common Hebrew term Elohim and the less frequent Eloah. It is thus, strictly speaking, not a proper name but a title.

From Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa
Dhimmi is a legal qualification of Christians and Jews living under Muslim rule in medieval Islam. The contract of “protection” dhimma, under which an individual becomes dhimmi, ensures the preservation of persons, property, an autonomous community life, and private law. In exchange, dhimmis should pay taxes, accept subordination to the Muslim rule, and maintain several restrictions on religious practice and visibility.

From Chamber's Dictionary of the Unexplained
The Arabic spirits of fire known as djinn, jinn or genies are frequently mentioned in the Koran.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
In Islamic law, an opinion made by a judicial/religious scholar (a mufti) on a legal, civil, or religious matter. The fatwa is usually a valuable source of information on any subject for private individuals or for judges or other authorities.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
In the Islamic tradition, trials or temptations that test the unity of the Muslim community. The term may be used to describe insurrection or civil warfare or, more specifically, to define a tribunal over doctrinal issues, broadly similar to the Christian Inquisition.

Conforming to the rules laid down by Islam. The term can be applied to all aspects of life, but usually refers to food permissible under Muslim dietary laws.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Forbidden under the laws of Islam. The term may be applied to transgressions in all aspects of life, from unlawful foodstuffs, such as meat from an animal that has not been killed in the prescribed way, to drinking intoxicating liquor and adultery.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
In Islam, the personal name of the Devil. Iblīs, one of God's angels, refused to venerate Adam at creation.

From Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa
Jihad (Arabic word) translates roughly to “struggle”; those who undertake jihad are often known as mujahideen. The concept of jihad is a complicated one, especially considering the very different historical contexts in which it has been invoked. Moreover, not all efforts at conquest couched in political or religious terms would necessarily be considered jihad by Muslims or scholars. Indeed, to define jihad simply as “holy war” risks simplifying complex phenomena and perceptions of religion, forms of power, and personal motivations.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History
Islamic schools which concentrate on theology and linguistics, as well as teaching Islamic science, history, poetry and literature. They originated in the Middle East in the medieval period and then spread throughout the Islamic world, including India.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Tower, used in Islamic architecture, from which the faithful are called to prayer by a muezzin. Most mosques have one or more small towers, which are usually placed at the corners.

A Muslim place of worship, usually having one or more minarets and often decorated with elaborate tracery and texts from the Koran. Muhammad's house in Medina (A.D. 622), with its surrounding courtyard and hall with columns, became the prototype for the mosque where the faithful gathered for prayer.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Any chapter of the Qur'ān. According to Muslim belief, each of the 114 sūrahs, which vary in length from several lines (known as āyahs) to several pages, encompasses one or more divine revelations of Muhammad.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The bodies of scholars in Islamic law that form the theocratic element of the government in Muslim countries.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
In Islam, the belief that all human beings are part of a worldwide community.