Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Christianity
Book of Bible Quotations
Compiled for reference, for practical helpfulness and for the sheer enjoyment of browsing through the Bible's riches.
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts.
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism
Covers the key people, movements, institutions, practices, and doctrines of Roman Catholicism from its earliest origins. Focusing on the living faith and its historical and social background, this volume provides academic and college students with the tools to help them understand this multifaceted religion.
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Protestantism
Explores the movement that began in Europe in the 16th century, established itself in opposition to the Roman Catholic Church, spread around the world, and today lives on in thousands of individual denominations and church organizations. A comprehensive work on Protestantism, this invaluable reference covers its history, concepts, people, events, and major organizations worldwide.
Handy Answer: The Handy Bible Answer Book
Helps readers dig deeply into the Bible to analyze the foundations of Judaism, Christianity, Western civilization, and the teachings of Jesus. This comprehensive guide also leads readers through the Old Testament, the foundation for both Judaism and Christianity and the moral and political cornerstone for many nations of the Western world.
Who's Who of the Bible
Every single individual whose name is listed in the Bible is listed here in order of their appearance in the Bible with their dates, a concise description of their lives and significance, and references to where they occur in the text.
History of Christianity
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
This invaluable reference compiled by top scholars covers 8 centuries of the Christian church and addresses such topics as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, culture, doctrine, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.
Books on Religion
Atlas of World Religions
Featuring more than sixty brand new maps, photographs, diagrams and charts, this is an essential companion to any study on the key religions of the world.
Cultural Studies: Holidays Around the World
Long considered the standard reference source for information on holidays and other events, this 6th edition includes more than 3,500 holidays, festivals, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances from all parts of the world. A key resource for anyone seeking information on different cultures, countries, and ethnic groups.
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion
Presents the religious affiliations and beliefs of prominent philosophers, in A-Z entries. Biographical information is given with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a summary of the points each philosopher made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America
Extensive A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, religious groups, organizations, and agencies shaping religion and law in today's society.
Global Dictionary of Theology
A theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.
Milestone Documents of World Religions
Examines the key sacred texts and foundational documents of the world's primary religions, from ancient times to the present, providing researchers with a fresh perspective on how critical religious texts have influenced both the past and the present.
Religious Holidays & Calendars
A comprehensive, authoritative source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. It also provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of major religions.
The Christmas Encyclopedia
This considerably expanded 3rd edition covers key topics surrounding the cherished holiday and its traditions.
Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarization that has characterized American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader.
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.
Great Thinkers A-Z
Brings together short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one
Pocket Guides: Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection. This text leads the modern viewer through these important aspects of Western art.
The Religious Right and American Politics
Timely and unbiased, this new 4th edition explores the influence of religion on legislation and society, while examining the alignment of the religious right with the political right. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin’s theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.