Geology in Credo: Books

Unique English language dictionary of paleontological terms, taxa, localities, and concepts focuses on the most common orders, genera, and species, paying careful attention to overall historical significance in terms of turning points such as mass extinctions.

An essential reference companion for anyone with an interest in energy, including scientists, consultants, journalists, economists, educators, students and policy-makers.

This comprehensive A-to-Z resource explains the specific terms, concepts, people, and organizations associated with the sciences of catastrophe --seismology and volcanology -- and covers the places in the world where these destructive phenomena have occurred, as well as key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, and current advances in research and technology.

Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.

Presents a currency-based, global synthesis cataloging the impact of humanity's global ecological footprint. Covering a multitude of aspects related to Climate Change, Biodiversity, Contaminants, Geological, Energy and Ethics, leading scientists provide foundational essays that enable researchers to define and scrutinize information, ideas, relationships, meanings and ideas within the Anthropocene concept.

This 2nd fully revised and updated edition provides a comprehensive source of information on the multidisciplinary influences of volcanic eruptions--both destructive and beneficial.

Describes North America's most significant rivers in a reader-friendly, concise format.

Crossing the boundaries between art, environment, science, nature and culture, this book uniquely considers glaciers from a myriad perspectives, revealing their complexity, majesty and importance, but also their fragility.

A fascinating, richly illustrated guide to the identification and use of gemstones. The introduction describes the geology, chemistry and properties of gems in clear and accessible terms. The main section supplies complete descriptions of a wide range of gems.

A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.

An authoritative and practical identification guide to minerals, rocks and fossils of the world.

An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.

A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.

A classic for over 65 years, this book is the most comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, and procedures in the oil and gas industry.

A comprehensive overview of the policy debates surrounding U.S. public lands and the natural resources they contain. This greatly expanded second edition traces the origin and evolution of policy, the current debate and future direction of land and natural resources policy.

3rd Edition; profiles women who fought against stereotypes throughout history and all over the world to forge new discoveries and theories that would eventually change the way we view science.

Provides entries on the scientists who have greatly impacted society and the scientific community. Each entry covers the scientist's background, including details about the individual's professional career and accomplishments within the scientific world. Further reading lists enhance each entry.

Provides an authoritative and accessible look at the lives of the men and women who have shaped science.

Introduces readers to some of the most remarkable scientists, mathematicians, authors, and world leaders of all time - individuals who are well worth knowing on a personal and professional level.

Completely revised and updated 2nd edition. With over 4,500 A-Z entries, 450 full-color photographs and drawings, over 150 fascinating feature notes, and full-page tables and charts, it is the most current and comprehensive student science dictionary available.

Ingeniously organized and eminently browsable, this richly visual volume is divided into six big sections--medicine, transportation, communication, biology, chemistry, and the environment. This remarkable depiction of history tells the story of every Big Idea in our history, seen through the lens of where science is taking us today--and tomorrow.

Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula, topics cover all major areas of science, including physical science, life science, earth and space science, science and technology.

Comprehensive book focusing on managing land resources using innovative techniques of spatial information sciences and satellite remote sensing.

National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything.

A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of this comprehensive and renowned work. Covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.

Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.

Covering everything from the Big Bang to global warming, this accessible and easy-to-use introduction to the scientific world, covers what science has achieved over the past few hundred years and what it promises for the future.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the Earth through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on weather and the environment through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.