Ancient Civilizations in Credo: Books

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

A chronology of world history through March 2018.

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

This pioneering book, the first on this period of the region's history in a generation, tells a different story. Interweaving political and social history and drawing on a rich array of sources, including Arabic manuscripts, oral histories, and recent archaeological findings, Michael Gomez unveils a new vision of how categories of ethnicity, race, gender, and caste emerged in Africa and in global history more generally.

Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

A preeminent expert on Chinese military history uses recently recovered documents and archaeological findings to construct a comprehensive guide to the developing technologies, strategies, and logistics of ancient Chinese militarism. The result is a definitive look at the tools and methods that won wars and shaped culture in ancient China.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

Covers important battles from the Fall of Jericho (ca. 8000 BCE) - the earliest recorded example of organized warfare - to the wars of the Chalukya Dynasty in the sixth century, which successfully established Chalukya hegemony over about a third of the Indian subcontinent.

Covers sporting events and activities of the era and the Romans who sponsored, competed in and attended them.

In this rich and surprising book, Frances F. Berdan shines fresh light on the enigmatic, ancient Aztecs, the Nahuatl-speaking people living in the Basin of Mexico from ad 1325 to 1521.

Delivers a collection of essays by international experts and emerging voices that offers up-to-date approaches on the methodology, contexts, and reception of Greek lyric from the archaic to the Hellenistic period. Readers benefit from a range of contextual and technical information included that allows for a more effective engagement with the lyric poets, as well as: guidance on working with texts that are mainly preserved as fragments; a selection of ways in which lyric poetry has influenced and inspired writers from Rome to the modern era; and recommendations for further reading that offer a starting point for how to follow up on a particular topic.

With contributions from leading scholars in the field, presents a broad review of late antique literature. The Companion covers notable Greek and Latin texts of the period and provides a varied overview of literature written in six other late antique languages.

Presents a series of original essays from top experts that offer an authoritative and up-to-date overview of current research on the development of the city of Rome from its origins until circa AD 600.

Designed for scholars, students, and the general reader, this compilation of essays shows how Classical civilizations have shaped human endeavors from art to government, mathematics to medicine, drama to urban planning, legal theory to popular culture.

This unique reference book offers one of the most comprehensive selections of Greek quotations ever committed to print. With its English text matched by the original Greek, the volume collects entries, ranging from the archaic period to late antiquity, and across philosophy, drama, poetry, history, science and medicine, each indexed with key words to enable fast sourcing. Together, these selections provide an incomparable insight into the glories of Greek civilization.

Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.

This invaluable reference compiled by top scholars covers 8 centuries of the Christian church and addresses such topics as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, culture, doctrine, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.

Exhaustive reference covering the known ancient gods, many heretofore obscure or known only from mythological literature, with a focus on their origins, histories, and functions.

Ranging from Egypt's predynastic cultures to the suicides of Cleopatra and Marc Antony in 30 BCE, Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, Third Edition includes detailed entries, each thoroughly reviewed and updated to reflect recent advances in scholarship.

Features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more.

Provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the people, places, events, and ideas of ancient Rome.

Covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE.

More than 4,000 years ago, the ancient Greeks invaded the rugged hills and fertile plains of the Balkan Peninsula, and in the centuries that followed, they built one of the greatest and most influential civilizations in history. Their enduring legacy to modern society includes mythology, poetry, drama, sculpture, architecture, science, and political thought. Spanning more than 2,000 years, from the beginning of Minoan civilization in the third millennium BCE to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 BCE, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Third Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world.

Makes esoteric ideas and the jumble of names easy to understand, enriching readers' lives.

Represents the first comprehensive reference work encompassing the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present.

Spans the worlds cultures from the beginnings of recorded history to the present day. Its four volumes are devoted to literature before 200 CE, from 200 to 1500, from 1500 to 1800, and from 1800 to the present. Staking a middle ground between the national and the global, the discussion is organized throughout in six broad regions: East Asia; South and Southeast Asia and Oceania; West and Central Asia; Africa; Europe; and the Americas.

Reveals how this ancient civilization - its buildings, ideas, objects and identities - has been perceived, portrayed and exploited over five hundred years in the Americas, Europe and beyond.

Authoritative reference provides entries covering all aspects of classical civilization: history, politics, ethics, moral law, punishment, family life, society, religion, mythology, reception, technology, and scholarship.

A fascinating exploration of this much-mythologized people: their history, artistic heritage and the scope of their maritime and colonizing activities in the Mediterranean.