American Literature in Credo: Books

From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.

The fascinating story behind titles including quotations, allusions, and odd or bizarre or otherwise intriguing titles.

Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.

The detective genre has explored supernatural and paranormal themes throughout its colorful history. Stories of detectives investigating spiritualists, ghostly apparitions, the occult and psychics have spanned pulp fiction magazines, comic books, novels, film, television, animation and video games. This encyclopedia covers the history of the genre in its multiple forms and informs and adds to the knowledge of either the new or informed reader.

Covers writers, illustrators, works, characters, countries, and related topics such as film, television, art, the oral tradition, advertising, feminism, and much more.

Hundreds of detailed entries provide coverage on modern poets writing in English.

Includes over tens of thousands of quotations for all occasions, from Ancient Egypt to the 21st century.

A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of poetry: its history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.

Drawn from the latest edition of the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, this provides an authoritative guide to the most important terms in the study of poetry and literature.

Provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.

In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. This text offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field.

Presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.

Thousands of authoritative and accessible entries on every aspect of children's literature, covering authors, illustrators, works, characters, genres, and much more. From Mark Haddon to Harry Potter, Raymond Briggs to Maurice Sendak, and Douglas Adams to The Gruffalo.

Highlights the diverse nature of poetic practice and scholarship, addressing a broad range of individual poets, movements, genres, and concepts from the seventeenth century to the present day. The Companion address a variety of emerging trends in American poetry, providing historical context and new perspectives on topics such as poetics and identity, poetry and the arts, early and late experimentalisms, poetry and the transcendent, transnational poetics, poetry of engagement, poetry in cinema and popular music, Queer and Trans poetics, poetry and politics in the 21st century, and African American, Asian American, Latinx, and Indigenous poetries.

Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.

Covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists.

A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, this title covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

An extensive reference work that spans the entire scope of American literature, from the colonial period to the present.

This source concisely sums up the knowledge that matters to Americans - the people, places, ideas, and events that shape our cultural conversation.

Contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoric--cultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape.

Provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.

Offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.

Comprehensive encyclopedia covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. Provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.

Introduces readers to some of the most remarkable scientists, mathematicians, authors, and world leaders of all time - individuals who are well worth knowing on a personal and professional level.

This engaging resource examines the stories of women from a wide array of cultures and generations who share a love of writing. These women are also united by the unique challenges facing women writers - some having to opt for masculine pen names in order to be published.