Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference: Health & Medicine
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with books of specialized terminology, references on anatomy and physiology, and works on medical practice.
Heath and Wellness
Facts and Fictions in Mental Health
Written in a lively and entertaining style, this text examines common conceptions and misconceptions surrounding mental health and its treatment. Each chapter focuses on a misconception and is followed by a discussion of related findings from scientific research.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
2nd edition; comprehensive and easy-to-use reference source with a collection of fitness topics ranging from sports, body systems, the body's reaction to physical fitness, and exercise activities to diseases and conditions, treatments, fitness tests, and other health-related issues pertaining to exercise and fitness.
Healing Ways: An Integrative Health Sourcebook
Information about conventional and alternative therapies, and how they can work together to help you reap maximum benefits. This approach is called Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM), and it lets you combine the best of both worlds: mainstream medical therapies and alternative solutions that have high-quality scientific evidence for safety and effectiveness.
Health Reference Series: Global Public Health and Disease Control Sourcebook
Provides basic consumer information on global public health, infectious diseases that affect global public health, environmental pollutants that affect global public health, and precautions to control these global infections. Includes an index and a directory of organizations for additional help and information.
Health Reference Series: Guide to Buying Health Insurance Sourcebook
Provides information about understanding the importance and need for health insurance, medical billing, and a detailed study about private and public-health insurance in the United States including key factors for choosing a private plan, COBRA requirements and benefits, Affordable care act, Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP coverage along with shopping for health insurance with pre-existing medical conditions, healthcare reforms in the United States, and more.
Obesity: Health and Economic Consequences of an Impending Global Challenge
The global obesity epidemic presents a formidable challenge to human capital acquisition, national wealth accumulation, and the goals of ending extreme poverty and boosting shared prosperity. This book delves into interventions necessary to combat the obesity epidemic and its effect on human capital.
Wellbeing: A Complete Reference Guide
Explores wellbeing from multiple perspectives, including children and families; the workplace; the environment; aging and later life; economics; and policies of wellbeing. Each volume brings together leaders of their respective fields in an edited volume of original articles.
Dr. Susan Love’s Breast Book
For a woman faced with a diagnosis of breast cancer, the information available today is vast, uneven, and confusing. For more than two decades, readers have relied on Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book to guide them through this frightening thicket of research and opinion to find the best possible options for their particular situations. This sixth edition explains exciting advances in targeted treatments, hormonal therapies, safer chemotherapy, and immunologic approaches as well as new forms of surgery and radiation. There is extensive guidance for the increasing number of women living for years with metastatic breast cancer. With Dr. Love's warm support, readers can sort the facts from the fads, ask the right questions, and recognize when a second opinion might be wise.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health
This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.
Encyclopedia of International Games
Captures (in one alphabetical sequence) the histories of major regional events such as the African, Asian, Arab, South Pacific, and Pan American Games; competitions such as the Indian Ocean Island Games, Arctic Winter Games, Island Games, and Games of the Small Countries of Europe; specific populations or professions such as the North American Indigenous Games, Maccabiah Games, World Military Games, World Police and Fire Games, and World Medical and Health Games; and Special Olympics, the Paralympics, games for the blind, and other regional games.
Key Concepts in Sport Psychology
The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate.
Key Concepts in Sports Studies
Written by experienced academics who teach the subject, this book will help students and researchers find their way within the diverse field of sport studies.
World Atlas of Sport
Traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly.
Encyclopedia of AIDS
For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features thousands of entries, including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
Captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.
The Encyclopedia of Depression
Provides coverage on topics critical to understanding depression, such as the history of the disease, research, treatment options, and the role of various mental health professionals in addressing the condition.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care.
Encyclopedia of Feeding and Eating Disorders
The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
An A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders. Written for clinical professionals and students in training to aid in clinical awareness, diagnostic accuracy, and intervention successfulness.
The Encyclopedia of Suicide
Entries offer information on the causes, history, and psychology of suicide and includes coverage of current research and listings of associations and crisis centers.
Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference. Physicians can quickly find answers to clinical questions, access important drug information, or understand the newest treatments and innovations for managing the most complex epilepsy patients
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms, landmark case studies and experiments, primary source materials, applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports, and career information.
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
2nd Edition. Authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Distills an amazing amount of information into a book that is easy to read and navigate. Coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more.
A comprehensive yet synoptic account of communicable diseases, it covers theory, epidemiology and control, then systematically groups diseases by their main means of transmission.
Disability Series: Communication Disabilities Sourcebook
Explains what voice, speech, and language are, and how communication problems may develop in a person. Various types of communication disabilities and their impact on the personal, social, and economic well-being of a person are discussed. It offers information about recovery models and rehabilitation techniques along with the rights and benefits of people with communication disabilities.
Diseases That Are Preventable by Vaccination
Highlights four infectious diseases: polio, tetanus, measles, and mumps. This book summarizes the symptoms and disease progression of all four diseases and provides information about the toxin or virus that causes each disease.
Harvard Medical School Commentaries on Health
Commentaries written by Harvard physicians on the questions that people face every day related to fitness, nutrition, parenting, heart health, mental health, men's and women's health.
Harvard Medical School Special Health Reports
Provides thorough insight into common conditions, diseases, and wellness issues. Each report focuses on a specific health concern and provides helpful tips for readers to further understand how to address and improve their health.
Health Reference Series: Diseases and Illnesses Transmitted to Humans from Animals and Insects and Contaminated Food and Water
Explains the various diseases and illnesses that are spread by animals, insects, and through the contamination of food and water, along with the processes involved in identifying an outbreak of these illnesses and diseases. Also provides tips and safety measures to protect yourself and your family, including an explanation of the epidemiology of emerging and reemerging infectious diseases caused by these pathogens. It also includes a directory of organizations that provide additional help and information.
Health Reference Series: Emerging Infectious Diseases Sourcebook
Provides basic consumer health information about the immune system, facts about the spread of disease, information on emerging infectious diseases, international travel guidance, diagnostic tests, treatment methods, and prevention and vaccination programs, along with reports on current research initiatives and additional resources.
Human Diseases and Conditions
Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, this 3rd edition offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions.
Human Emerging and Re-emerging Infections
Covers the epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnostics, clinical features, and public health risks posed by new viral and microbial infections. The book includes detailed coverage on the molecular mechanisms of pathogenesis, development of various diagnostic tools, diagnostic assays and their limitations, key research priorities, and new technologies in infection diagnostics.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid
Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid is the first book to thoroughly explain RAPID PFA. RAPID, a unique theoretically grounded and evidence-based PFA method, follows a set of easily understood principles.
Key Concepts in Health Studies
Provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
Opinions Throughout History: Diseases & Epidemics
Traces the history of some of the most impactful diseases in human history, such as smallpox, measles, the bubonic plague, and HIV, and looks at how these viruses and bacterial plagues affected American politics and culture. The book will also explore the rise and spread of the anti-vaccination and science skepticism movements and their relationship to American and global public health.
Opinions Throughout History: Drug Use & Abuse
Explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, this text also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.
Routledge Histories: The Routledge History of Disease
Draws on innovative scholarship in the history of medicine to explore the challenges involved in writing about health and disease throughout the past and across the globe, presenting a varied range of case studies and perspectives on the patterns, technologies and narratives of disease that can be identified in the past and that continue to influence our present.
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with definitions of your term from specialized medical dictionaries.
American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Invaluable reference work for medical and nursing students, health service professionals, and everyone requiring an authoritative guide to modern medical terminology.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.
Anatomy and Physiology
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Packed with descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.
Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Human Body
Answers the most important questions on the human body through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. Includes updates and new references, plus information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment. An invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
4th edition; covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Useful for all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Key Concepts in Nursing
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.
Comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, this is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.