Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
A guide to the thousands of characters, from humble artisan to lofty genius, who people the unfolding history of music, this volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
Succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music. Readers will find biographies of thousands of composers from Albinoni to Zappa, with in-depth treatment of major figures, coverage of individual works, including plot summaries of operas and ballets, articles on the history of music and instruments, entries on musical forms, from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism, and clear definitions of technical terms and jargon.
The Routledge Research Companion to Popular Music Education
First book-length publication that brings together a diverse range of scholarship in this emerging field. Perspectives include the historical, sociological, pedagogical, musicological, axiological, reflexive, critical, philosophical and ideological.
Technical and Media Studies
Defining Digital Humanities
This reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Chapters provide a historical overview of how the term 'Humanities Computing' developed into the term 'Digital Humanities', and highlight core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
Provides students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media
The first comprehensive reference work to which teachers, students, and the curious can quickly turn for reliable information on the key terms and concepts of the field.
Key Concepts in Media and Communications
Covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.
Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings
From John Philip Sousa to Green Day, from Scott Joplin to Kanye West, from Stephen Foster to Coldplay, this text covers the vast scope of its subject with virtually unprecedented breadth and depth. Approximately 1,000 key song recordings from 1889 to the present are explored in full, unveiling the stories behind the songs, the recordings, the performers, and the songwriters.
St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture
Presents entries that examine the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture. Provides academic and public libraries with a much-needed authoritative reference resource defining, exploring, and analyzing this significant aspect of culture and history.
Pop Culture and Leisure Studies
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism
Terms related to leisure, travel and tourism, ranging from hotels, catering, restaurants and customer service to general business, accounting and personnel concepts.
Dictionary of Leisure Studies
This is the first full length dictionary of Leisure Studies. It examines the key concepts, assesses the work of central figures, and helps students zero-in on essential issues and conceptual distinctions.
A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes
Provides intelligence and information unavailable anywhere else about a wealth of subjects and individuals. Focused upon what is truly innovative and excellent, Kostelanetz ranges widely with insight and surprise, including appreciations of artistic athletes such as Muhammad Ali, Johan Cruyff, and the Harlem Globetrotters and such collective creations as Las Vegas and his native New York City.