Art History in Credo: Books

From the earliest cave paintings through to the internet and street art, this inspiring book chronicles the 100 most influential ideas that have shaped the world of art.

Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped photography from the invention of the daguerreotype in the early 19th century up to the digital revolution and beyond.

A valuable resource for both undergraduate and graduate students of the history of Australian artforms from colonization to postmodernism, and for general readers with an interest in the nation's colonial art history.

Consists of never-before-published essays on the crucial historical and theoretical issues that have framed our understanding of art in Latin America.

Presents a series of original essays by international and interdisciplinary authors who offer a comprehensive overview of the origins and evolution of artistic works, movements, approaches, influences, and legacies of Modern Art.

Provides intelligence and information unavailable anywhere else about a wealth of subjects and individuals. Focused upon what is truly innovative and excellent, Kostelanetz ranges widely with insight and surprise, including appreciations of artistic athletes such as Muhammad Ali, Johan Cruyff, and the Harlem Globetrotters and such collective creations as Las Vegas and his native New York City.

Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.

A rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting.

Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped architecture. Explores when each idea first evolved and the subsequent impact it has had up to the present day.

Organized chronologically, this serves as a visual lesson in architecture through the ages. The buildings featured come from all over the world and include centers of worship, public buildings, places of business and homes. Each building includes a photograph, with a double-page spread for the top 50 selections. Captions provide specifications and brief histories.

With rich political and historical context, Steinhardt covers forty centuries of architecture, from the genesis of Chinese building through to the twenty-first century and the challenges of urban expansion and globalism.

Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.

Features some of the most important buildings in the history of world architecture - from the pyramids and Parthenon to some of the most significant works by recent architects.

Aimed at prospective and new students, this book gives a comprehensive introduction to the nature and practice of landscape architecture, the professional skills required and the latest developments.

Provides built environment students with an easy to use guide to the essential concepts they need to understand in order to succeed in their university courses and future professional careers. Key concepts are arranged, defined and explained by experts in the field to provide the student with a quick and reliable reference throughout their university studies.

Chronicles the most influential fashion ideas through which womenswear has evolved, offering a unique and engaging perspective on the subject.

Demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).

A look-by-look dissection of the key ideas that changed the way we dress -- from the middle of the 20th century to the present day -- explaining the most iconic items of clothing and how they were worn, what the look was born of, its cultural background, how it was received, and how it still resonates in fashion today.

Covers the origins of the imagery and designs on common jewelry and portable artwork between late antiquity and the Middle Ages.

Offers a thorough grounding in the principles of fashion design, describing the qualities and skills needed to become a fashion designer, examining the varied career opportunities available and giving a balanced inside view of the fashion business today.

Aki Choklat explores the footwear design process, explaining the differences between the anatomy of the foot and the anatomy of a shoe, showing how one constrains the other, before moving onto the research and design development processes and the art of creating a complete collection.

Comprehensive guide and resource for students and furniture designers. As well as discussing pioneering contemporary and historical designs, it also provides substantive answers to designers questions about function, materials, manufacture and sustainability, integrating guidance on all of these subjects -- particularly material and manufacturing properties, in one accessible and structured volume.

Focusing on fashion from 1850, noted fashion historians Daniel James Cole and Nancy Deihl consider the evolution of womenswear, menswear, and childrenswear, decade by decade.

This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, offers a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.

Offers students and those wishing to enter a career in textile design a basic grounding in its three main disciplines - printed, woven and mixed media.

A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.

Documents the universe of fashion from the mid-18th century through the late 1990s in short entries with many illustrations.

Comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design. From pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic advances, a wealth of entries elucidate technical terms and detail movements, media, advertising, corporate identity, posters, packaging, and magazine and book design, placing graphic design in the wider context of the history of fine art and illustration.

A great introduction for retail students, this book offers a user-friendly reference guide to all aspects of visual merchandising and covers both window dressing and in-store areas. Using examples from a range of shops, from fashion emporia to small outlets, the book offers practical advice on the subject, supported by hints and tips from established visual merchandisers.

This 2nd Edition is an informative reference work that covers American women in the world of the visual arts from the eighteenth century to the present day.

A concise, critical biography of the innovative French artist Henri Matisse.

Containing detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over, this encyclopedia is the first of its kind. Each item is described in as much detail as the original source material provided, including information on its origin, who was its wielder, and the extent of its magical abilities.

Packed with information on materials and techniques, feature boxes containing information and marks, practical advice on how to identify a fake, and tips on caring for and displaying your collection.

High definition images with metadata from the National Gallery, London

Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world

Founded in 1856, the aim of the National Portrait Gallery, London is "to promote through the medium of portraits the appreciation and understanding of the men and women who have made and are making British history and culture, and ... to promote the appreciation and understanding of portraiture in all media". The Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.

Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection. This text leads the modern viewer through these important aspects of Western art.

Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

Offers a spirited reassessment of art history's methods and terminology.

Substantial and ambitious dictionary exploring the languages and cultures of visual studies. Provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.

This book, probing a number of resources and incorporating advice from top experts in the field, offers guidance on collection management and care, and serves as an important reference guide for collectors and those charged with managing collections.

An essential reference work embracing the vast vocabulary of art in all its forms. Contains over 2000 authoritative entries. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day: there is even a table of the dynasties of Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt, China, India and Japan.

Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception. The ideas include innovative concepts, technologies, techniques and movements, from the silent era's masterpieces to today's blockbusters and art house movies, these highly illustrated pages are a chance to rediscover films from five continents.

From scriptwriting through to production, this introduction to animation for students surveys key technical processes and examines a variety of stylistic approaches.

From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.

A collection of useful and often fascinating information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century.

From the classics to the B slasher movies, over 11,000 quotes are arranged in this unique reference.

A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.

A collection of popular Italian, Mexican, French fine arts masters.

A comprehensive library of European Fine Art.

A full collection of art produced by the European masters.

A complete, comprehensive European collection of art.

A collection of black and white historical engravings, literary persons, and historical images.

Americana and all sorts of historical ephemera, book illustrations, lithos and images of the arts.

A collection of images of William Morris Designs.

Founded in 1856, the aim of the National Portrait Gallery, London is "to promote through the medium of portraits the appreciation and understanding of the men and women who have made and are making British history and culture, and ... to promote the appreciation and understanding of portraiture in all media". The Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.

A diverse image collection of auction house-antiques, fine art, and decorative arts.

A stunning collection of images from auction houses, as well as, fine art, furniture, antiques, and decorative arts.

A collection of auction house, fine art, furniture, antiques, and decorative arts images.