Preview View: Information Literacy Multimedia
***NOTE FOR LIBRARIANS (DELETE AFTER CUSTOMIZING)***
This page allows instructors to preview and read brief descriptions of the multimedia included in an View: Information Literacy subscription. The links below are placeholders only. You will need to add your proxied links from the Link Constructor to the links below to allow instructors to watch the videos.
For instructions on obtaining links to the multimedia, please visit our Help Site: Link Constructor article.
Below you can find links to preview and descriptions of the videos that are part of your library's View: Information Literacy subscription.
Browse the materials below and contact your library if you would like to use some of videos in your class. Your library's staff can provide the relevant links.
Getting Started with Research
- Video: Life in the Information Age Technology is changing the way we locate, analyze, and share information. Use this video to introduce students to the evolving information landscape and their roles as responsible information consumers and creators.
- Video: Pre-Research Use this video to demonstrate the value of pre-research. Students will learn how to align their initial exploration to their assignment requirements.
- Video: In-Depth Research, Outlining, and Writing This video walks students through the process of in-depth research, outlining, and writing and will help them understand the cyclical nature of research.
- Video: Framing a Problem If your students are having trouble formulating a research question for assignments, start with this video to help students begin the framing a problem. Students will learn the importance of asking open-ended questions and how to approach research as a process.
- Video: Creating a Research Plan Information overload can be a major roadblock in the research process. This video will help students conceptualize a research pathway and consider solutions to common research challenges.
- Video: Getting Started with Wikipedia/Google This video will help students understand the process of background research by introducing techniques for gathering background information using Google and Wikipedia.
- Video: Transitioning from Google/Wikipedia to Databases In this video, students will learn how to use their search results from Google and Wikipedia to gather additional information using Google Scholar and library databases.
- Video: How to Narrow Your Topic Do your students have trouble selecting a topic for a research assignment? This video will outline the process to help students hone in on a compelling research topic with appropriate scope using strategies like strategic searching. Students will also understand the importance of open mindedness and flexibility in the research process.
- Video: Thesis Statements Use this video to help students identify the purpose of their research efforts and construct evidence-based statements. Students will learn how to narrow in on a topic, conduct background research, and synthesize the existing body of evidence in order to craft a compelling argument.
Sources of Information
- The Purpose and Value of Evidence Use this video to demonstrate the importance of evidence in scholarship. Students will learn the purpose of evidence and become aware of how using evidence adds value to their work.
- Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge This video defines and explains the differences and relationships between data, information, and knowledge, and how each might be used or encountered in research.
- Video: Primary and Secondary Research This video illustrates the differences between primary (original) research (with a focus on methods used in sciences and social sciences) and secondary research, and the ethical considerations associated with each.
- Video: Peer Review This video will provide students with an understanding of what peer review means, how the process works, why it is an indicator of quality, and how to locate peer-reviewed sources during their research process.
- Video: Types of Sources This video provides students with a helpful overview of the wide variety of source types they may encounter during research. In addition to defining and describing different source types, it also addresses how to select the appropriate source for their information need, analyzing the capabilities and constraints of different source types, and how to determine source quality.
- Video: Primary Sources This video will introduce students to the purpose and characteristics of primary sources in order to help them identify the most appropriate type of source for their research needs.
- Video: Secondary Sources This video will introduce students to the purpose and characteristics of secondary sources in order to help them identify the most appropriate type of source for their research needs.
- Video: Tertiary Sources This video will introduce students to the purpose and characteristics of tertiary sources in order to help them identify the most appropriate type of source for their research needs.
- Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials Do your students feel intimidated by scholarly materials? Use this video to help students get familiar with these valuable resources and learn tips for approaching, analyzing, and integrating scholarly materials into their projects.
Searching for Information
- Video: The Searching MIndset Use this video to introduce students to the mindset of searching as exploration. Students will be able to distinguish between targeted and exploratory search, plus the most effective approaches to each.
- Video: Exploration Strategies This video digs deeper into exploratory search strategies. Students will learn how to craft a search statement and the importance of neutral language.
- Video: Choosing a Database Students can use this video to receive guidance on how to select the best database(s) for their information need and assignment requirements.
- Video: Refining Search Results Use this video to help students navigate the search process. Students will learn techniques to conduct effective background research using multiple keywords in order to narrow in on a research focus.
- Video: Identifying Search Strategies Most students are familiar with search engines such as Google, but it’s important they move beyond using a single search tool. In this video, students will lean how to identify familiar research tools and additional resources to use in their search process.
embed video
Evaluating Information
- Video: What is Authority? Use this video to introduce students to the concept of authority, how it relates to research, source selection, evaluation, and attribution.
- Video: Introduction to Bias This video introduces the idea of bias and prejudice and the importance of awareness of one’s own bias and the bias of others when evaluating sources and situations, and responding to arguments.
- Video: Types of Bias This video builds on the introduction to bias video by discussing specific types of bias such as social bias, confirmation bias, and communal reinforcement.
- Video: Evaluating Sources Use this video to encourage students to think critically about the information they encounter in print and online. Students will become familiar with strategies for evaluating sources based on these criteria: authority, accuracy, currency, relevance, and objectivity.
- Video: Identifying Misinformation This video will help students identify the characteristics and purpose of misinformation as well as its effect on their personal and academic lives.
- Video: News Evaluation Strategies This video provides additional guidance for students by introducing the evaluation critieria neccessary for assessing the credibility and objectivity of online news.
Using Critical Thinking and Logic Section
- Video: Inquiry Use this video to introduce students to the value of using an inquiry-based mindset. Students will learn how to use inquiry to ask questions and solve problems thoughtfully and effectively.
- Video: Why Thinking Matters Being aware of the critical thinking process will help students develop strong decision making skills. Use this video to encourage students to develop awareness of their own critical thinking habits.
- Video: Importance of Logical Reasoning Logical reasoning is central to effective problem solving and decision making. Use this video to help students identify instances of logical and illogical reasoning they may encounter in their daily lives.
- Video: Deductive and Inductive Reasoning
- Video: Evidence Based Reasoning Use this video to introduce students to the importance of supporting research conclusions with evidence. Students will also learn how to assess their research question in order to locate the approptiate supporting evidence.
- Video: Introduction to Analysis This video will demonstrate to students how analyzing information about a problem and synthesizing their research findings is the most effective way to reach a solution based on solid evidence.
- Video: Synthesis Use this video to encourage students to practice synthesis. This video will demonstrate the value of putting together information from many different sources to form new ideas and conclusions
Writing and Communication Section
- Video: Understanding the Communication Need Use this video to help students analyze the purpose of communication methods. Students will be introduced to the advantages and disadvantages of each in order to choose the best type for a given situation
- Video: Written Communication This video will walk students through the key steps of effective communication. Students will learn how to consider their communications’ purpose, audience, and content or topic.
- Video: Academic Writing This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering mutliple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
- Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper This video provides students with an overview of the basic structure of a research paper.
- Video: Paraphrasing, Summarizing, and Quoting This video focuses on strategies for writing a strong paper that brings together ideas from multiple sources, including identifying main ideas, and paraphrasing and summarizing techniques.
- Video: Writing Help Use this video to help students craft clear and effective written assignments. Students will review the value of sentence variety and the importance of proofreading their work.
- Video: Preparing for a Presentation In this video, students will learn how to identify presentation skills in everyday experiences, examine questions to ask before preparing presentation content, and review strategies for structuring an effective presentation.
- Video: Why Teamwork Matters Teamwork is essential to members of organizations when creating products, spreading ideas, and producing outcomes. Use this video to help students think about the application of teamwork in their academic and personal life.
Visual and Quantitative Literacy Section
- Video: Searching for Images To be an effective communicator using visual information, students first need to develop the skills necessary for locating images. Use this video to introduce students to strategies for locating images and get familiar with image databases or subject-specific collections accessible through the library.
- Video: Interpreting Images Interpreting visual information is a critical skill students will use beyond their academic careers. Use this video to encourage students to ask questions and consider context when interpreting visuals.
- Video: Why Does Visual Literacy Matter? This video will introduce students to the role visual materials play in their daily lives and the skills they will need to communicate quickly and universally using images and media.
- Video: Using Quantitative Data Use this video to help students incorporate quantitative data in their research and evaluate available sources for currency, accuracy, authority, relevance, and objectivity
- Video: Evaluating Statistics Statistics are widely used to support arguments and positions. Use this video to encourage students to think critically about how the statistics they encounter were created and used to convey information.
Citations and Academic Integrity
- Video: Why Citations Matter This humorous, live-action video doesn’t focus on one particular citation style, but rather provides students with a general overview of the importance of citations and crediting sources as a part of research.
- Video: APA Citation Style Use this video to provide students with an overview of the APA citation style including common source types such as books, journals, and websites.
- Video: MLA 7th Edition Citation Style Use this video to provide students with an overview of the MLA 8th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
- Video: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style Use this video to provide students with an overview of the MLA 8th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
- Video: Turabian Citation Style Use this video to provide students with an overview of Turabian citation style, including common source types such as books, journals, and websites.
- Video: Harvard Citation Style This video provides an overview of the Harvard referencing style, which is common at universities in the UK. It includes an introduction about the importance of citations and describes conventions for popular sources such as books, websites, and journals.
- Video: Chicago Style 17th ed. Books and ebooks This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
- Video: Chicago Style 17th ed. Journals This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
- Video: Chicago Style 17th ed. Websites and Social Media This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
- Video: Academic Integrity Use this video to provide students with an introduction to the concept that information has value, and that acting with academic integrity and ethical behavior is essential to success as a student and as a participant in the scholarly conversation.
- Video: Plagiarism This video provides examples and explanations of specific types of plagiarism, such as cloning, aggregation, and self-plagiarism, as well as strategies to prevent plagiarizing and a reminder of the possible consequences of academic dishonesty.
- Video: Copyright Use this video to aid in instruction on intellectual property and copyright, including exceptions to copyright restrictions such as fair use, and guidance on the ethical use of others’ intellectual property.
Culture and Citizenship Section
- Video: Introduction to Cultural Issues Understanding their own cultural identity is the first step for students to develop empathy for others from different backgrounds. Use this video to encourage students to consider how their identity is affected by culture and world events.
- Video: Global Citizenship This video will introduce students to their roles as global citizens by encouraging them to think critically about their daily actions in a global context.
- Video: Introduction to Civic Engagement Part of being a responsible, informed citizen is engaging with the goals and challenges of the community. Use this video to help students begin reflecting on ways they have been (or could be) involved with civic issues in their community
- Video: Introduction to Civic Action Effective communication is a key part of successful civic action. Use this video to introduce students to the fundamental role communication plays in the stages of planning, implementing, and discussing civic action.