Nursing in Credo: Overview

Health care refers to services provided by medical professionals aimed at promoting physical and mental welfare, through the prevention, treatment, and management of illness.

Modern medicine emerged in the nineteenth century, when the development of the germ theory of disease, the discovery of anesthesia to control the pain of surgery, and improved sanitation began to curb the horrors of infectious diseases.

Field of medicine and hygiene dealing with the prevention of disease and the promotion of health by government agencies.

Science of providing continuous care for sick or infirm people. Nurses are the largest single group of staff working in the health service.

Nursing is a discipline that is critical to the health and welfare of all nations and the backbone of any health care system. Without a sufficient supply of nurses to care for the public’s needs, the public’s health is at risk.

Vital signs, by definition, are a person’s temperature, pulse, respiration rate, and blood pressure (BP). These signs reflect the status of a person’s circulatory, respiratory, neurological, and endocrine functions.

An institution in which certain kinds of illness are investigated and treated. The first documented hospital was Chinese, in 491. In the European Middle Ages the well-to-do were all treated at home, while the sick poor were cared for in a hospital attached to the local poor house. Hospitals are the centerpiece of U.S. healthcare and are multipurpose healthcare institutions. They provide a place for physicians and other clinicians to treat patients, for special diagnostic and treatment services, and for emergency care services.

The nursing home industry remains an important part of the health care continuum, providing housing and health care services to more than 1.5 million older adults in the United States

From Nursing leadership Founded in 1969, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for baccalaureate and higher degree programs in nursing.

From The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations, and its organizational affiliates

In Nursing Leadership
The National Black Nurses Association (NBNA) has become an incubator for nursing leadership.

From Collins Dictionary of sociology The system of health care provided for all citizens by the UK government.

From Nursing leadership The Nursing Organizations Alliance, also known as The Alliance, was created on November 17, 2001, with the merger of the National Federation for Specialty Nursing Organizations and the Nursing Organizations Liaison Forum

From Collins Dictionary of businessThe main professional body for nursing staff in the UK

From Nursing leadership Advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) are registered nurses (RNs) with advanced educational and clinical preparation. APRNs include clinical nurse specialists (CNSs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), certified nurse–midwives (CNMs), and nurse practitioners (NPs)

From Encyclopedia of nursing research As a specialty within the nursing profession, emergency nursing encompasses care of individuals across the life span, seeking help for perceived or actual physical or emotional alterations of health that require emergent or nonemergent interventions

The branch of medicine concerned with the care of the elderly, and with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders associated with aging. Many disabilities in old age are caused by or related to the deterioration of the circulatory system (see arteriosclerosis), e.g., mental deterioration and disturbances of motor and sensory function are often associated with an insufficient blood supply.

In The Columbia Encyclopedia
The art of assisting at childbirth.

From The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and Allied Health
Nurse anesthetists, or certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), are advanced practice registered nurses with specialized graduate level education, training, and certification in anesthesiology.

From Encyclopedia of Women's Health Broadly defined, an NP is an advanced practice registered nurse who has attained a formal NP education, primarily at the master's degree level.

From Encyclopedia of nursing research The goal of palliative care is to prevent and relieve suffering and to support the best possible quality of life for patients and their families, regardless of the stage of the disease or the need for other therapies.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Health-care professional who provides patient services ranging from taking medical histories and doing physical examinations to performing minor surgical procedures

From Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Registered nurses, or RNs, are health care professionals who work as part of health care teams to promote health and prevent and treat disease.

In Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $110,930 per year, $53.33 per hour

In Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $104,860 per year, $50.41 per hour

In Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $70,000 per year, $33.65 per hour

In Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $45,030 per year, $21.65 per hour

In Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $27,510 per year, $13.23 per hour