Food and Nutrition in Credo: Culinary History

From Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
The history of food and trade is the story of humanity's initial struggle for survival. Food is the most basic of human necessities. Discusses food in the Ancient Era, Middle Ages, Early Modern Era, through the Industrial Revolution.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Author. As one of America's foremost authorities on Mexican food, Gustavo Arellano has since 2004 written the long-running syndicated weekly column ¡Ask a Mexican! for the OCeekly, where he is an editor and food critic with a readership of more than two million people.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
French lawyer, economist, and gastronomist, famous for his witty treatise on the art of dining, La Physiologie du goût (1825).

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Author. As the self-titled “Insatiable Gourmet,” Gael Greene brought a sensualist's appetite and journalistic style to food writing and restaurant reviewing, a career that had traditionally been dominated mostly by male bon vivants.

English political economist and social scientist who studied population growth as it affects general human welfare; wrote An Essay on the Principle of Population (1798), in which he observed that the growth of population is ultimately limited by the food supply.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Author. As the powerful restaurant critic of the New York Times for eight years, Mimi Sheraton brought to the job a rigorous, highly personalized, comprehensive commitment that changed the way restaurant criticism was written.

Rationing, allotment of scarce supplies, usually by governmental decree, to provide equitable distribution.

Severe shortage of food affecting a large number of people, usually caused by a population explosion or failure of food crops. In the past, famines have been defined as discrete events, where a large proportion of a population dies of starvation and disease caused by undernourishment.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Restaurateur. Starting in the mid-1960s, Hiroaki Aoki, who took the nickname “Rocky,” brought the first teppanyaki restaurants to the U.S., all under the name Benihana of Tokyo, introducing many Americans to their first taste of Japanese food.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia U.S. culinary expert and cookbook author. In 1945 he became the first chef to demonstrate cooking on network television.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
English chef. Born in High Wycombe, he became interested in cooking as a teenager during a family holiday to France.

From Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
A famous French chef who worked for George IV, Napoleon and Czar Alexander amongst others

It is a truth universally acknowledged that Julia Child taught America how to cook.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
American food journalist, restaurant critic, and cookbook author.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
French authority on cooking, regarded by some as the greatest chef in history.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
As founder of the French Culinary Institute—now the International Culinary Center—in New York City, Dorothy Cann Hamilton has helped launch more than 22,000 careers, including those of many of America's most prominent chefs.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
TV show host, author. As the flamboyant and irreverent host of one of the first TV cooking shows, The Galloping Gourmet, Graham Kerr showed Americans that even haute cuisine might be accomplished at home in simple steps while having a highly entertaining time in the kitchen.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, restaurateur, author, TV host, entrepreneur. In the 1980s, Emeril Lagasse emerged as one of the most exciting young chefs of modern Creole cuisine, and in the 1990s was the first professional chef to become a television and media star.

From The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
British journalist, cookery writer, TV presenter and ‘kitchen goddess.'

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
English celebrity chef and television personality. Known for his cheeky, irreverent style, boyish humour, and campaign for healthier dinners in British schools, he became popular for his BBC television series The Naked Chef (1998–99), which promoted simple cooking with fresh foods, and the Naked Chef series of cookbooks which followed.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, author, educator, TV host. Jacques Pépin is ranked among the finest contemporary cooking teachers in America, both for his seminal books La Technique and La Méthode and for his long-running TV cooking shows.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
US chef. He became internationally recognized as a top chef of Cajun cuisine, a reputation furthered through his ebullient personality, his frequent television appearances, and his best-selling cookbooks such as Paul Prudhomme's Louisiana Kitchen (1984).

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, author, TV host, entrepreneur. Though born in Austria, Wolfgang Puck became a seminal figure in what was called the New California cuisine of the 1980s, upon opening his restaurant Spago, in L.A.

Scottish chef, restaurateur, and television personality. A former footballer with the Scottish champions Glasgow Rangers, he worked at several of London's top restaurants before opening his own Gordon Ramsay in Chelsea in 1998.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
“Henri Soulé did not invent the tyranny of the fine French restaurant,” wrote food critic Gael Greene. “But he was a virtuoso of the tyrannical style.”

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, restaurateur, author. Alsatian-born chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten created a style of French cuisine highly personalized but buoyed by American and global influences that had a widespread and immediate influence on American gastronomy every time he opened a new concept restaurant.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
American chef and author whose advocacy of organically grown, locally produced seasonal food and of sustainable agriculture has influenced America's approach to food.